Latest News


By | January 25, 1996

      For the 15th consecutive year, SATELLITE NEWS, Via Satellite magazine and the 1995 World Satellite Directory announce “Satellite ’96: Emerging Global Markets,” Feb. 7-9, 1996, at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City, in Washington, D.C. Satellite ’96 has grown to be the most important commercial communications satellite conference and exhibition in the United States.

      Via Satellite magazine Publisher and Editor Scott Chase will serve as conference chairman again this year. SATELLITE NEWS Managing Editor David Bross will again serve as conference co-chair.

      As in the past, the conference will be run in conjunction with the Society of Satellite Professionals International (SSPI) and the Washington Space Business Roundtable. Satellite ’96 also will be the site of the most-anticipated satellite social event of the year: the SSPI Hall of Fame Black Tie Dinner-Dance and Scholarship Awards. To register, call 800/777-5006 or, outside the United States, +1 301/424- 3338.

      Wednesday, February 7, 1996 9:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. Welcome and Introductions

      Scott Chase, David Bross, Cynthia Boeke

      9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Opening General Session: World and U.S.

      Industry Leaders Roundtable

      Moderators: Scott Chase and David Bross

      * Irving Goldstein, Intelsat

      * Neil Bakmann, Intersputnik

      * Fred Landman, PanAmSat

      * W. Neil Bauer, Orion Atlantic

      * Kevin McGrath, HCI

      * Mary Jane McKeever, AT&T Skynet

      * John Connelly, GE Americom

      11:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Washington Space Business Roundtable


      * Speaker: TBA Track A 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Communicating Via Satellite in Latin America

      Moderator: Cynthia Boeke, Editor,

      Via Satellite

      * Joe Del Riego, Exec. VP and COO,

      Galaxy Latin America

      * Elie Boubli, Pres, Fofiel Int’l.

      * Eckart Schober, V.P. and CEO,

      Nahuelsat S.A.

      * Lourdes Saralegui, Sr. VP, PanAmSat

      * Dolores Martos, Group Director,

      Latin America, Intelsat Track B 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. The Big LEO Debate Continues

      Moderator: Clayton Kunz, Editor,


      * Robert Kinzie, Chair/CEO, Iridium

      * Douglas Dwyre, Pres, Globalstar

      * Roger Rusch, program dir, Odyssey

      * Patrick McDougal, V.P., Bus Dev,

      ICO Global Communications

      * Martine Aliana Rothblatt, V.P.,

      Strategy, WorldSpace Track A 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. EuroScene: Reaching Out for World


      Moderator: Gerald Oberst, Attorney,

      Hogan & Hartson, Brussels

      * Jeremy Rose, Principal Consultant,

      Communication Systems Ltd.

      * Guiliano Beretta, Dir of Bus

      Development, Eutelsat

      * Peter Ekelund, Dir of Strategy,

      Nethold Services B.V.

      * Antoine Valdes, V.P., Video and Audio

      Services Business Unit, France

      Telecom Track B 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. World Satellite Manufacturers: Bringing

      New Technology to a Mature Market

      Moderator: Scott Chase, Publisher,

      Via Satellite

      * Don Cromer, President, Hughes Space

      and Communications

      * Robert Berry, President, Space


      * Russ McFall, President, Lockheed

      Martin Commercial Astro Space

      * Armand Carlier, Chairman and CEO,

      Matra Marconi Space

      5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. SSPI Champagne Reception 7:00 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. SSPI Industry Innovators/Hall of Fame

      Black Tie Dinner-Dance

      SSPI Industry Innovators and

      Scholarship Awards

      Thursday, February 8, 1996 8:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. General Session II–The Satellite World

      View from Wall Street: Global

      Dealmakers Speak Out

      Moderator: Paul Dykewicz, Editor


      * George Reed-Dellinger, V.P., NatWest

      Securities Corp.

      * Nancy Mattson, Managing Dir, The

      Argent Group

      * Carl Eric Stal, Senior Manager, ING

      Lease Structured Finance

      * Frederick Sampliner, Principal, S.S.

      Sampliner & Co. Inc.

      * Howard Rosencrans, Director of

      Research, HD Brous & Co.

      * Wolfgang Demisch, Managing Dir, BT

      Securities Track A 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Asia Pacific: Ocean of Opportunity

      Moderator: Tim Logue, Analyst, Reid and


      * Peter Jackson, CEO, AsiaSat

      * Dr. Eui Koh, Group Dir, Asia Pacific,


      * Harry Mahon, V.P., Video Services,

      Columbia Communications Corp.

      * Dr. Seon Jong Chung, V.P., Satellite

      Communications Div, Electronics

      and Tele-communications Research


      * Dr. Shuichi Samejima, Satcom Systems

      Lab, NStar, Nippon Telegraph and

      Telephone Track B 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. DBS: One Year Later

      Moderator: David Bross, SATELLITE NEWS

      * Michael Alpert, President, Alpert &


      * Eddy Hartenstein, President, DirecTv

      * Murray Klippenstein, President,


      * Bill Pritchard, President, W.L.


      * Representative, Primestar

      * Carl Vogel, President, EchoStar

      12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. Satellite Executive of the Year Luncheon 1:00 p.m. – 1:20 p.m. Satellite ’96 Keynote Address featuring

      James Noblitt, President, Boeing

      Commercial Space Company 1:20 p.m. – 1:50 p.m. Satellite Executive of the Year 1995

      Award honoring Steven Dorfman,

      President,Hughes Space and

      Telecommunications Co. Track A 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. Private Networks Find Global Appeal

      Moderator: Susan Irwin, President,

      Irwin Communications

      * Gino Picasso, President, GE Spacenet


      * Fred Kelly, V.P., Business

      Development, SSE Technologies

      * Eileen McNamara-Raisch, President,

      AT&T Tridom

      * Sal Benti, V.P., Worldwide Sales and

      Bus Dev, ComStream Corp.

      * Paul Gaske, V.P., Hughes Network


      * Simon Bull, Consultant, Communication Systems Track B 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. What Broadcasters Really Want from

      Satellite Operators

      Moderator: Katie Schuerholz, Via


      * Bob Zitter, Sr V.P. Tech, HBO

      * Mary Frost, V.P., Price Waterhouse

      * Brent Stranathan, V.P., CBS

      * Richard Wolfe, Director, ABC

      * Stephen Tom, President, WIT

      Friday, February 9, 1996 8:45 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. General Session III–The Policy Debate:


      Satellite Industry Regulators Speak Out

      Moderator: Dr. Delbert Smith, Partner,

      Reed, Smith, Shaw & McClay

      * Scott Blake Harris, Chief, FCC Int’l


      * Karl Savatiel, Chairman, SSPI

      * Chuck Hewitt, President, SBCA

      * Dr. Jorn Christensen, Christensen


      * John Lewis, Space Services Department,


      11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. General Session IV: Emerging Global


      Moderator: Cynthia Boeke, Editor, Via


      * John Mattingly, V.P. and G.M., Comsat

      World Systems Division

      * Gounde Adadja, Director General,


      * L.S. Satyamurphy, Dir, ISR O

      * Jock Anderson, Orbicom, South Africa

      * Louk Jurgens, Managing Director, PT


      * Dan Ozley, V.P., Scientific-Atlanta


      Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

      Leave a Reply