Latest News

Matthew Goldman

By | October 6, 2013

      Matthew Goldman, VP TechnologyMatthew Goldman, Senior Vice President, Technology, Ericsson Television, Inc.

      Matthew Goldman is Senior Vice President TV Compression Technology at Ericsson, where he is focused on video compression related products and solutions. He has been actively involved in the development of DTV systems since 1992. He was a prominent participant in the Moving Picture Experts Group where he helped create the MPEG-2 Systems standard, the baseline transport technology used in direct broadcast satellite, digital cable, terrestrial broadcasting, and DVD-video. He served as project editor for the MPEG-2 DSM-CC standard, the control signaling used in video-on-demand systems, switched digital video, and for DTV data downloads and carousels. Committed to improving the Advanced Television Systems Committee DTV standards, Mr. Goldman was a co-developer of the Program and System Information Protocol (PSIP) standard, which is used by DTV receivers to navigate and tune to broadcast DTV services. He also has been influential in other industry organizations including the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers, the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers, the ATIS IPTV Interoperability Forum and the Consumer Electronics Association. Three of his projects have been later recognized by Technology & Engineering Emmy® awards.

      Mr. Goldman has presented numerous papers at industry trade events and has been a contributing writer to various trade magazines. He is an author of the NAB Handbook, has been published in the IEEE Proceedings, and is an IEEE Broadcast Technology Society Distinguished Lecturer.

      Mr. Goldman received bachelor (high honors) and master of sciences degrees in electrical engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute. He holds six patents related to digital video transport. A SMPTE Fellow, he is also a senior member of the IEEE and an inductee of the Academy of Digital Television Pioneers. Mr. Goldman is currently serving as Finance VP on the SMPTE Board of Governors, and is an active participant in the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Engineering Emmy Awards Committee

      Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

      Leave a Reply